Making my weapon

Introduction 

For this post I will be creating the weapon that I have researched in a previous post. I will be creating my hammer in 3DS max and I will be putting all the skills I have learned into the design of this hammer. I aim to have a completed hammer that looks good and shows off what I have learned.

Creating the base shape

hammer 3D 1

First I created the standard shapes which was really easy to do. The only difficulty I had was with lining up the shapes and making sure that they were in the right proportion. However, I then struggled with getting the round bit of my hammer because there was no shape that resembled my design.

 

full hammerI then had to create the other end of the hammer. This took a little more work as there was no standard shape that looked how I wanted it to. So I got a shape that looked similar to it and changed its vertices to make it look more like the shape I want it to.

Detail

Hammer detail

Now that I had the basic shape I decided to add details to make it look more like my drawings. To make the anvil I had to first draw it using the spline tool and then add an editable Polly to then use the extrude tool to finally make it 3D. I also had to use the shell tool as my anvil was hollow and I needed it to be filled. So it looked the same on the other side. To create the gem on the bottom of my hammer I got a shape that looked like it and changed the proportions.

 

hammer done

I then continued to add details by first using the chamfer tool to make my hammer look more realistic. I then added my straps by using the helix tool and extruded it to make it look like a strap for a weapon. I then did the same thing for my band but I turned down the amount of turns to one. So it made one round band added to the design of my hammer. Finally, I textured my hammer this was quite a difficult task as I struggled to find the exact texture that fit with my design. But I managed to find the right textures for each part of my hammer.

Evaluation and reflection 

Render

Overall, I think this project went well for me as I planned my time effectively and I think I have a good end product. It was important for me to plan my time effectively as I had to plan and create my weapon in a short period of time. I’m happy with my end result but I wish I had some more time just to add more of a scene around my weapon to make it more interesting. I asked for some feedback on my design and other people also thought that I should have added more to the background of my weapon. If I was to do this project again I would properly do a more complicated design to challenge myself. As i feel I could do more complex designs using what I have learned for completing this project.