Block out feedback

Introduction

I got some feedback on my blockout from other people. I will use this feedback to change and add things to my level to improve the quality of it. This will also allow me to see what people like about my level and what I could do to highlight what people enjoy.

Problems 

blockout 1.PNG

One problem that people found in my level was that my corridors were too long and not interesting enough to have them that long. So I decided to half the size of my corridors. I also decided that I should add some assets to the corridors because they still were not that interesting. I might add some barrels or some crates to give the feel of an abandoned spaceship.

blockout room

Another problem that people found with my level was that they could fall down and get stuck in different areas. To fix this I have decided that I should add fences around these areas and just in case stack boxes that would allow the player to jump back on. while doing this I noticed that my platform was just floating. So I decided to add pillars to hold it up. I also noticed that some of my escape pods don’t make sense as they are facing another room. To correct this I got rid of the escape pods on that wall all together and just left the ones on the wall opposite.

lighting.PNG

I also had some lighting glitches in my main conference room that made shadows and dark spots. This was an easy fix as I just changed some of my lights and added some more lights. I then had to just rebuild my lighting after adding the new lights. I found lighting my environment was hard to do because there was a lot of these issues in my environment. When I add my assets in I will have to rebuild my lighting so I may have to change it again later on.

Conclusion 

I fixed the problems that people suggested and I found that by fixing the problems people suggested improved the quality of my game. I didn’t find a lot of these issues and  I found that getting other people to test my level worked really well. Going forward I will definitely have people test my level as I continue to create my environment.

Leave a comment