Asset Research

Introduction

In this post, I will list all of the assets I need to create and I will describe how I will use them in my game. This will be useful for me later on when I’m creating my assets as it will give me exactly the information I need about my assets.

Assets list 

3 x unique enemies

2 x normal enemies

1 x heart boss

1 x spikes

1 x character

4 x level background sprites

2 x background assets

3 x Floor Tiles

1 x bone platforms

I don’t know how I’m going to have my level laid out yet but I wanted a list of the things that I’ll need for my game. It’s going to help me later in the project for when I need to see exactly what I need to make for my game.

Asset research 

9

I then collected some images to help me when creating my assets and the UI for my game. I wanted to get some images of some monsters and other creatures as I plan to have a bit of variation in my monsters. So I need some ideas lots of ideas for them to help me create them. I then got some images to help get some ideas for my UI and my GUI. I did this because theirs a lot of variations of GUI’s and I wanted to have some so that I could look at the later. Finally, I looked at some different assets and textures to use later on.

It’s important that I keep with a consistent style for my assets otherwise it can become very messy especially with my pixel art style. So I have to make sure that I keep the pixels the same size and to keep my game looking good.

Evaluations

Overall I think this went well as I was able to get lots of ideas of how I want some of my monsters in my game to look. The monsters are key to my game so it is important for them to look good and be quite unique. I also looked at some GUI I could put into my game. I liked the simple versions of the GUI as I think it’s important to have a simple and clear interface so players can clearly see it.

Leave a comment